Different Types Thyroid Issues

There are several types of thyroid problems such as HyperthyroidismHypothyroidism and Thyroid Storm and, Thyroid Cancer. The symptoms might not be very obvious, so it’s important to know them so that you can get yourself checked and get treatment early.

I had hyperthyroidism a few years back and I didn’t even know I had it. I was lucky because my best friend kept asking why do I swear so much and so easily? Initially I thought it was just a normal thing for fat people.. Until after awhile, I noticed that, yea, it’s ridiculous how I’d sweat so much when I’d just walked a short distance. Something seems odd. It was only after I almost blacked out in the train that I finally seek doctor’s help. To date, I still have no idea if that scary incident was caused by asthma attack or thyroid storm.. I don’t remember wheezing, and it seems different from the asthma attack I ever got~ Asthma attack didn’t cause my ears to numb and cramp up and ring so suddenly.. My visions even blacked out a few times on and off until I manage to take a seat and shut my eyes.. I was out of breath, my heart/lung felt like it got flattened.. 😦

It was a terrible period I tell ya~ I love to walk fast.. So imagine, my heart will beat like I’m sprinting if I walked 5-10 meters at my normal speed. I had to spend many months walking as slow as an old granny and I was only 28yr old then~ -_-” I sweat buckets and go poop like 3-4x a day. Not fun at all i tell ya~ Though it’s nice to lose so much weight.. but the superrrrrrrrrrr fast heartbeat EVEN when lying down to go sleep is very disturbing. Whose heart beat like you’re jogging when you’re actually lying down to go sleep?? O.o And the hair loss is depressing.. =__=

So do take some time to read the some of the different thyroid problem symptoms and take care of your health, k~ ❤ If there’re some symptoms that seem to match, do check with a doctor ya? Usually if they suspect thyroid problem, they’ll be pressing your neck area lightly to feel for any swell and send you for a blood test~ If you’re from Singapore, you can ask a doctor for advice by visiting your GP or any of the polyclinics at National Healthcare Group or Singhealth like I did.. Polyclinic’s cheaper since I don’t have CHAS card~ 😄

Hyperthyroidism is a condition in which your thyroid gland produces too much of the hormone thyroxine: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/hyperthyroidism/basics/definition/con-20020986

Some of the symptoms includes:

  • Sudden weight loss, even when your appetite and the amount and type of food you eat remain the same or even increase
  • Rapid heartbeat (tachycardia) — commonly more than 100 beats a minute — irregular heartbeat (arrhythmia) or pounding of your heart (palpitations)
  • Increased appetite
  • Nervousness, anxiety and irritability
  • Tremor — usually a fine trembling in your hands and fingers
  • Sweating
  • Changes in menstrual patterns
  • Increased sensitivity to heat
  • Changes in bowel patterns, especially more frequent bowel movements
  • An enlarged thyroid gland (goiter), which may appear as a swelling at the base of your neck
  • Fatigue, muscle weakness
  • Difficulty sleeping
  • Skin thinning
  • Fine, brittle hair

Hypothyroidism a condition in which your thyroid gland doesn’t produce enough of certain important hormones: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/hypothyroidism/home/ovc-20155291

Some of the symptoms includes:

  • Fatigue
  • Increased sensitivity to cold
  • Constipation
  • Dry skin
  • Weight gain
  • Puffy face
  • Hoarseness
  • Muscle weakness
  • Elevated blood cholesterol level
  • Muscle aches, tenderness and stiffness
  • Pain, stiffness or swelling in your joints
  • Heavier than normal or irregular menstrual periods
  • Thinning hair
  • Slowed heart rate
  • Depression
  • Impaired memory

Thyroid Storm is a potentially life-threatening condition for people who have hyperthyroidism: http://www.webmd.com/women/tc/thyroid-storm-topic-overview

Symptoms of thyroid storm include:

  • Feeling extremely irritable or grumpy.
  • High systolic blood pressure, low diastolic blood pressure, and fast heartbeat.
  • Nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea.
  • High fever.
  • Shock and delirium.
  • Feeling confused.
  • Feeling sleepy.
  • Yellow skin or eyes.
  • Symptoms of heart failure, such as breathing problems or feeling very tired.

Thyroid storm can lead to coma, heart failure, or death.

Thyroid Cancer occurs in the cells of the thyroid — a butterfly-shaped gland located at the base of your neck, just below your Adam’s apple: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/thyroid-cancer/basics/definition/con-20043551

Some of the symptoms includes:

  • A lump that can be felt through the skin on your neck
  • Changes to your voice, including increasing hoarseness
  • Difficulty swallowing
  • Pain in your neck and throat
  • Swollen lymph nodes in your neck
2 thoughts on “Different Types Thyroid Issues

Leave a Reply

